My Writing Room


*brushes off journal cover with a feather duster*

Hello, writing world! It’s been ages since I wrote in this journal. I’ve been swamped with author, mommy, and promoter duties, so please excuse my lengthy absence.

Today I would like to show you my “writing room” as part of an Authors Blog Challenge I’m participating in. Unfortunately, it’s nothing Instagram-worthy or inspiring, but it might lend some insight to the struggle a toddler mama goes through to find even the smallest sliver of time to write.

IMG_9948

Yep, that’s the gist of it. We live in a small modular home in the country that has only three bedrooms, one of which is our office/game room. The office makes me feel claustrophobic, so all my writing is done right here on my living room couch. All I get is my couch, my music, my laptop, and my pretty throw blanket. Everything else belongs to the 2-year-old love of my life. As you can see, even down to the cardboard slab in the corner with his crayon artwork all over it, he is the true owner of this house. We merely pay rent, cook his meals, and provide items for his entertainment.

He’s a bit spoiled, but not a one of us would have it any other way.

Someday, I dream I might own a lovely house with several bedrooms, one of which has a gigantic window and can serve as my writing room. You can’t see in this picture, but the back door has a view of the deck and I get to watch plenty of birds flitting to and fro throughout my writing time. If it’s raining, I can listen to the tinkling of raindrops on our deck’s tin roof. If it’s at night, I can chuckle wickedly at the sound of beetles meeting their demise via our trusty bug zapper.

Lots of wonderful ideas and chapters have been born on this couch. Another place I like to sit is the chair next to it, which is near a window and allows a cool breeze to sweep in whilst I’m soaring to worlds unknown.

That’s all for today! Keep an eye out for The Sister Code, DORK Series Book Two, coming August 2, 2016.

DORK 2 Announcement

Ttyl!

ISS_3559_00057 [Converted] copy

Find Me On Facebook

www.authorhaleyallison.com

Leave a Reply

