Writers, Don’t Do What I Did


This is just a quick little nugget of advice for any and all writers/authors out there.

DON’T. JUMP. INTO IT.

Today makes it a month since my first novel went live on KDP, and since then a ton of it has been updated or changed. It’s embarrassing to admit, but I was not prepared and I should have waited the extra month like I said I was going to. Now, after a month of revising, updating, and taking advice, I finally feel like my product is what I want it to be, which is why I’m willing to sell it in a paperback version.

So yeah, I guess my first release was just a trial run.

I swear the second book’s release is going to be a lot smoother. I’m going to save up the money I need for a blog tour (which I really wish I could afford right now), a book trailer, and a fully-formatted, professionally covered book. By the way, in case you’re new to this biz, you’re going to need at least $1,000 to launch a book successfully with all the bells and whistles. Just FYI. Self-publishing is not free unless you’re just publishing for fun and not because you want to make a career out of writing.

So yeah, to anyone who has a month old copy of my book, I deeply apologize. The new version is pretty different. If you bought or downloaded the old version and didn’t get a free copy of the new one, please let me know and I’ll send you a PDF. This will not be happening again.

TIA for not hunting me down and stoning me to death.

-H.D.

3 thoughts on “Writers, Don’t Do What I Did

    • Okay, you caught me. I’m too shy to approach someone for an interview. Plus, I don’t have a clue what I would say to all these people. But the cover, formatting, editing, and marketing definitely should be saved up for (maybe $1,000 was a little high of an estimate, but $500 is a reasonable guess).

      And thanks for the info about Amazon, I’ll look into that.

Leave a Reply

