Slow and Steady


As some of you may know, I’m already working on the second installment in my D.O.R.K. series. I never thought I’d have this problem, but I’m actually struggling with the fact that I have too many ideas for this second book, and it’s hard to narrow them down. I’ve started over about five times already, and I’m getting a little frustrated that it’s taking so long just to get past the 5K word mark.

In times like these, I have to remind myself of the tortoise and the hare. My progress seems slow right now, but I’d rather take my time and produce something meaningful than rush through this second book and end up with a crappy product. After all, it took months just to get started on the working draft of D.O.R.K. Book One, and then once I had a rough draft, I had to rewrite it three more times after that to get it “perfected” (and even now it’s a work in progress). Producing high-quality novels and other works of entertainment means taking your time and pouring your essence into it, not cranking out crappy sequel after crappy sequel just to rake in the cash. (Take the Air Bud franchise, for instance…)

If you’re a writer and it feels like you’re never going to get your novel off the ground, just keep writing. Even if you only write 250 words a day, it’s going to get you somewhere eventually. Sometimes you’ll have to take a break for a day (or a week… or a month…) to let your brain rest, and that’s okay. That finish line isn’t going anywhere.

Speaking of Diary of a Rocker’s Kid Book One, it’s free until Tuesday, so what are you waiting for? Pick up a copy now before it’s too late!

Wish me luck on this second installment,

H.D.

Leave a Reply

