Publishing is Scary


I was never, NEVER a nail biter until I decided to publish a book. I even criticized other people for doing it, calling it a “nasty habit” and “unsanitary.” However, as soon as I submitted my final draft to Amazon, I immediately started eating on these suckers like I’ve never had a bite to eat in my life. Why?

Because PUBLISHING IS FREAKIN’ SCARY, Y’ALL.

My stomach has been in knots for the past four days… probably because I keep binge-eating. I have never been this nervous about anything, and I get nervous about a lot of stuff. D.O.R.K. comes out tomorrow, and I’m terrified that people are either going to hate it or not care about it at all. I think this quote sums up my feelings pretty well:

“It seems like a lot of people think that publishing a book equals instant happiness. Like, having a sudden marsupial pocket might have made me instantly happy because I wouldn’t have needed a stroller back when I had an infant. But it’s a strange experience to see your book separate and out in the world without you. It’s very much like having a kid who’s going around talking about you and you have no idea what he or she is saying about you. Or maybe you do know, but you’re not sure how it’s being HEARD.”

– The Rumpus Late Nite Poetry Show #11 Cate Marvin

Publishing a book, whether it’s done traditionally or self-published, is not a walk in the park. It is not easy. In fact, compared to this, writing the book was the easy part. I know how to write, but marketing and self-promotion is a whole other ball game. It’s nerve-wracking, nail-biting, stomach-churning anxiety day in and day out. I keep telling myself, though, that if even just one person reads this and becomes a die-hard fan, my life will be made, so I don’t need to worry about people not liking it.

On that note, like I said, this e-book is coming out TOMORROW, you guys. I might even be running a promotion for the first couple of days (possibly even as low as $0.99) so please save this link and keep an eye peeled. If you do buy it, read it, and like it, I would really appreciate a review so other people know it’s worth the dough. And remember, it’s FREE if you have Kindle Unlimited!

Thanks so much!

-H.D.

3 thoughts on “Publishing is Scary

Leave a Reply

