Endless Drafts


There are few things more frustrating in life than thinking you’ve finished your final draft, and then realizing that you can do so much better and starting all over again. I am working on my fourth draft right now, and I’m excited because it’s a lot better than the last one, but I’m feeling pretty drained and depressed from having to go through this process again. The new draft is pretty different from my previous ones, so it’s basically like writing a rough draft all over again. I want this novel to be the best it can be, though, so even if I have to do this ten more times, I’m going to get it right. I have never been more dedicated to anything in my entire life (except perhaps my family).

My characters are becoming so real to me… I really wish my MC could be my bestie IRL. She is just such a badass… I find myself cheering out loud for her sometimes. Her love life is still a bit of a roller coaster to write, but I’m starting to realize that the romance is not the most important part of a story, unless you’re actually writing a romance novel. I used to love reading romances and obsessing over the couples in the books, but the truth is that a good story is about more than just a love story. It’s about a person’s story. Their hopes, dreams, flaws, heartaches, triumphs, annoyances, quirks… Everything about them becomes important when you spend long enough thinking about and writing about them. They take on a life of their own, and then just for kicks, they take over yours, too.

DORK: Diary of a Rocker’s Kid has a new synopsis, by the way:

16-year-old Madison Daley is the beloved daughter of a Kentucky horse rancher… or so she thinks. When her dad reveals his past identity as a popular rock star, Mads is overjoyed and becomes determined to get him back to Los Angeles, where he got his start… and also where he still owns a 7.8 million dollar mansion in Beverly Hills. Her plan is to get her dad back to the stage for good, but her schemes bring about some unintended consequences along the way, including the attention of a handsome teen actor and some clues regarding the identity of her mother.

If you’re interested in pre-ordering, please follow this link: D.O.R.K. on Kindle

Follow me on FB (Haley Despard Facebook) and Twitter (@HaleyDespard) and here on WordPress for updates! Thanks all!

Have a great Friday and weekend 🙂

-H.D.

Leave a Reply

