Why Perfectionists Should Write Books


This is sort of the antithesis to my previous post. The half-full version of the cup. The positive spin. The sunny side of the egg.

I wrote before about how perfectionists such as myself struggle to write because we can’t let things go. Imperfections drive us crazy and make it impossible to make any progress because we’re too busy trying to correct the first paragraph of the novel to write anything else. Well lately I have found that writing is transforming something deep within me that I never thought I could change. I’m learning to let go of the need to make things perfect the first time.

*GASP!* Revolutionary, right? I’m so proud of me. Right now I’m on my fifth, sixth, or hundred and sixth (I lost track) attempt at a rough draft for this novel idea and I have finally said to myself, “Screw it. It doesn’t have to be perfect right now.” No one who is not a perfectionist will understand how huge a breakthrough that was for me. Letting go of control is such a massive hurdle for me but I am finding that once I do that, progress finally begins to be made. The storyline is finally coming together and my characters are making sense. As long as those two things are present, I don’t mind writing something that is less than perfection. Corrections can be made later. Also, even the scenes I write that don’t end up working for me tend to help me figure out what I do want to write and I’m able to move forward from there. It’s all a process, and processes can get very messy at times.

By the way, I’m also kinda proud of myself for correctly using the word “antithesis.” I love big words; in fact, I used to read books with a dictionary in my other hand as a kid so I could learn the words I didn’t know. See? I was destined for this crazy madcap writer’s life. Everything is going to be okay, even if it’s less than perfect.

Have a perfectly imperfect weekend, my lovely readers 🙂

~A.D.

Leave a Reply

