Needful Insomnia


Why is it that the courage to write finally came to me at 2:30 AM last night? I foolishly drank a couple cups of coffee between 4-9 PM and ended up with a bad case of the “I’m not tired”s until 4 AM. The good part of the story is that I finally, finally started writing my improved fantasy novel. This is not the first instance of late-night inspiration for me. Why can’t I write at a reasonable hour instead of needing a night of tossing and turning and three hours of sleep to get me motivated?

The answer lies in my current lifestyle choice. During the day, I have very little time to write and feel inspired. By nightfall, I am usually about to drop dead on the couch and not interested in anything but sleep. I suppose the coffee was the inciting incident this time. I finally had the presence of mind and the guts to write what was inside of me, even if it may suck major monkey butt. (I know, I’m giving you such great mental images today… I plead sleep deprivation induced insanity)

So in this case, on this day, I NEEDED to be awake at 2:30 AM with restless leg syndrome and darting eyes. I absolutely needed an odd scenario to begin work on this novel. Now that it’s started, it will be much easier to continue and maybe I won’t need the caffeine next time. So thank you, coffee. This time you came through for me and I will continue to use you to get through this long day (although I still hate you for costing me precious hours of beauty sleep).

Sorry for the rambling… I’m delirious. Exciting updates are (hopefully) soon to come! Thanks for reading!

~A.D.

Leave a Reply

