Attempting NaNoWriMo Again


Jeez… I never have time to post anymore. You would think that being a SAHM (stay-at-home-mom) I would have at least a little time to blog every day, but nope, it’s still just once in a while. I have however still been working on my writing project when I can and I am still on fire and excited for it. Still in the plotting stage for the moment; I attempted to write rough drafts but they would always make me want to change the story or the voice a little bit and I had to start over. It doesn’t matter how long I’ve been struggling though, because I’m going to win this time. To be more specific, I’m going to win NaNoWriMo.

I am going to write 50,000 words next month if it kills me. It’s going to be tough… I have a short attention span and oh my gosh that balloon in the dining room is freaking me out ouch my knee hurts I think I have to pee… Ugh! See?!

Realistically, I know I’ll probably only end up writing about 20-25K words, but still, isn’t that better than nothing? It’s definitely more than I wrote in the past six months. I’m going to tell myself I’m in it to win it because I really really really want to try. But I’ll still be happy if I just get a good, solid start on this thing.

Since I’ve been holding out on my readers for so dang long, I guess I’ll give a short teaser for my book:

Madelyn Andrews has been singing and playing guitar alone in her basement ever since 7th grade. Her two best friends abandon her at the beginning of her junior year of high school and she is left friendless and depressed. Sean Redding is a well-liked, wealthy senior who takes notice of Madi in choir class when she finally gets a solo after two years of trying. They practice together, become friends, and decide to start a band with Sean as the lead singer and Madi as lead guitar. They meet an extraordinary set of twins, Evan and Ella, who play bass and drums and Sierra Lane is born. A rise to popularity, a beginning to a possible romantic friendship, and a horrible tragedy lie in Madi’s future. Will she conquer or crumble?

Stay tuned for more deets 😉 and wish me luck for NaNo!

~A.D.

4 thoughts on “Attempting NaNoWriMo Again

  1. Sounds like you have an interesting premise. I, too, am hoping to follow through with the ambitious goal of 50k words in November for NaNoWriMo, so best of luck to you! Just keep your eye on the prize.

  2. It won’t kill you! I promise. I don’t know that I agree with the concept behind NANOWRIMO, but it seems to work for a lot of people, so who am I to judge. I need a lot more time to prepare a novel, and ideas and thoughts need more settling and exploring than NANO gives me. But some great stories have come out of it, so it must work! And if gets you to sit down and work hard at your craft, then more power to you! Especially as a SAHM. I like the teaser for your book, and I wish you all the best in your writing journey! Thanks for sharing, great post!

    • Thank you for the best wishes! The only reason I’m even attempting this is because I’ve been planning this novel for a long, long time. Trust me, I need that planning time first too! But I’ve been struggling to get the ball rolling and I think this might just be the kick in the butt I need 🙂

Leave a Reply

