For the Judge-y People


I think it’s safe to say that the vast majority of humanity hates being judged. It just makes you feel bad. Well I’m from one of the southeastern US states and down here it seems that not only are we constantly judging each other, but the rest of the country (and sometimes the world) is judging us, too.

I have come across so many articles that talk about how “backwards” it is to drop out of college and become a stay-at-home mom (and they make that sound like it’s just a Southern thing. HA! That’s funny…). In all honesty I find the implication that I’m “backwards” completely offensive. I dropped out of college before becoming a stay-at-home mom and the reason for that was because I had zero idea what I wanted to do with the rest of my life at the age of twenty and I didn’t want to waste money and time going to school for a program I didn’t even want to be in at the time. After dropping out, I got married and later pregnant and discovered my true calling: loving and caring for my family. Yes I still want to get a degree and I would love to be earning money right now, but being the one who gets to raise my own son trumps all of that. Three years later I’m still going back and forth on what career I would like to have, but I’m working on that in my head while I’m doing laundry, dishes, and other things that I’m happy to be doing for my family.

Here’s my point: If I’m happy with my life, who are you to judge me? What business is it of yours if I don’t have a college degree and stay home with my son instead of working outside of the home? It is my personal choice based on various factors and I’m not sitting here judging you for your choices, believe me. I have way too much to do. If you have enough time to sit around and bad-mouth people who are different from you, I feel sorry for youbecause I have plenty of things in my own life to handle without worrying about anyone else’s, and I like it that way.

So yeah, if you’ll excuse me, I need to get back to work.

NO JUDGING.

Thank you for putting up with this rant, readers 🙂

~A.D.

5 thoughts on “For the Judge-y People

  1. This is a fantastically worded rant 🙂 As someone with social anxiety i completely understand where you’re coming from, who cares what people think about you, as long as you and your son are happy that’s all the matters 🙂

  2. There’s been this movement for women to be able to make choices about her body. If people truly believed that, they would be more accepting of people who’ve made decisions similar to yours. Personally, I don’t think I’ll be married or have kids for quite a while, but I admire you for choosing what you want, not what others want 🙂

Leave a Reply

