A Short New Year’s Challenge


As a homemaker/freelancer, I know everyday life can seem a little boring at times. Waiting 10 hours for my hubby to get home every day can be tiresome and lonely. But when I think about those 10 hours alone every day that I have right now (hopefully I’ll get a job soon or this won’t change until I go back to school), each one seems like a golden opportunity. Day-to-day life is when everything starts. Even the smallest decisions can have HUGE repercussions. I never would have met my husband if I hadn’t joined match.com on a whim one day. It was worth every penny of the $60 we each paid, although at the time it seemed like a huge waste of money that I would regret later.

My challenge for the new year is “Make every day count.” We humans are not guaranteed tomorrow. We think we’re going to get at least 70 years of life, but who knows? If you waste all your time on this distraction and that distraction, you’re going to miss it. “Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That is why it is called the ‘present.'” (Kung Fu Panda… I know it originated somewhere else but I’m not sure exactly where lol)

I don’t say that to be depressing and morbid, I say it as a motivation, both to myself and to you. Don’t be discouraged if your everyday life seems boring and mundane. Your day-to-day decisions create your destiny. 🙂

Happy New Year!!

~Alli Day

One thought on “A Short New Year’s Challenge

Leave a comment