New Year’s Goals


Okay, I didn’t have time to post the first half of this yesterday, so I’m just going to post what I did this year and what I hope to do next year at the same time.

In 2012–

1. I started the year as a nanny and stayed a nanny for 7 months. I loved the kids I babysat and miss them often.

2. While I was a nanny, I met my wonderful husband on match.com. Story later 😉

3. I hit 45k on a novel for the first time EVER. I ended up starting over on it but I still have it (somewhere) and I consider that a huge accomplishment and proof that I CAN do it.

4. I had several meetings throughout the year with my wonderful group of writer friends called “Scribblers Central.” I love them so much! They encourage me and motivate me to stay on the path even when I feel like giving up for good.

5. I worked as a photographer for 2 months and loved it, solidifying that photography is one of my passions and talents that I need to pursue in life.

6. I got engaged and then married to my man, and on the weekend of our marriage we also got a doggy. His name is Bryan Buster and he is our first “kid.” We love him and each other very dearly.

7. I made the decision to follow my dreams no matter what the circumstances or the cost. Which is HUGE.

 

So that’s what I did. Not such a bad year! Oh, and as promised–

The story starts with a 20-year-old girl who just wanted to have some fun and see what was out there. I really had no intentions of moving quickly with anyone. I got several messages from creeps and eventually just stopped trying. Then all of a sudden, I got a message in my inbox that someone had “winked” at me. I checked out his profile and liked what I saw. He seemed decent, funny, and charming, so I winked back within about 5 minutes of receiving his message. He instantly responded with, “Wow, that was fast!” We talked a bit and found out we had a LOT in common, so we set up a date. 2 days after that first message, we met at Olive Garden. At first I didn’t know how things were going to go, but then over dinner I showed him some of my writing and he gave me some pointers. I could not believe he was intelligently discussing my writing with me! Fantasy is both of our favorite genre and we had plenty to talk about for the rest of the evening. It didn’t take us long after that to realize we were meant for each other 🙂 We knew we were going to marry each other almost from day one. He is my best friend, my encourager, and my supporter in everything and I know we will do great things together. He was the missing piece in my life and he has already deepened my ideas on just about everything, including my writing. Later this week, I’ll reveal a little bit about the new version of the story I was writing before.

 

And now, the main event–goals for 2013!

1. Start out the new year with a kiss from both hubby and puppy.

2. Get started on the first draft of my new and improved novel idea.

3. Get into the music program at the college I have selected.

4. Save up for and purchase a professional-grade camera.

5. Start my Commercial Music degree in the fall.

6. Lose 30 lbs.

7. Continue to pursue knowledge, truth, and success regardless of what I actually accomplish.

 

What are your goals? Comment please 🙂

 

~Alli Day

 

Leave a Reply

