A Difficult Choice


There’s something I think every true artist struggles with–do you risk it all and follow your dreams, or do you carry on with normal life and hope something great happens?

I just got married. We got a puppy around the same time we got married. I love my husband with all my heart and I want to support our new family financially. That means either getting a job, writing a crazy good novel, winning American Idol (ha, yeah right) or going to school and busting my butt to finish so I can earn MORE money in the future… or all of the above! As much as I have wanted to write lately, it seems like everything is standing in my way. My ideas aren’t good enough. I have a home to take care of. I need to find some work in this interim period between now and when I’m possibly starting school again.

I have so many dreams and goals that I would love to achieve, but I haven’t the slightest idea as to how to start on any of them. I’m 21 years old and I don’t want to wait until I’m old and gray to start overcoming my obstacles. I guess the hardest part is just taking that first scary step. The hardest part is getting the train moving. The hardest part is typing the first word.

Oh, by the way, I hope everyone noticed that… AHEM… we’re still here. So much for the Mayan apocalypse.

~Alli Day

7 thoughts on “A Difficult Choice

  1. Yup the Mayan apocalypse past us by, now we just need to wait for the next nutty end of the world prediction and watch people start right back up with the fear mongering.

    “The hardest part is getting the train moving. The hardest part is typing the first word.” Very, very true.

  2. I think the best thing is just finding the right balance between everything. Don’t worry about messing up; just get out there and do what you want to do, and if things fail, then learn from your mistakes and find a new way to approach the situation 🙂 Good luck!

  3. I guess I’m curious as to what kind of writing you do?
    There are way more options than just the standard fiction writing. Have you ever looked into freelance commercial writing? If you love writing, but aren’t able to make enough from fiction and the piddly amount newspapers pay these days, why not support your writing addiction by business writing?
    It pays excellently, with a fledgling writer able to command at least fifty dollars an hour.
    Anyway, just an idea from one writer to another!

Leave a Reply

