Explorations in Spirituality


As I’ve been growing as a person and writing my latest work, I have had my mind opened to all kinds of new ideas about the spirit world and the beyond. All we humans “know” is what we are told, but what you believe is something entirely different, and that’s something that every individual has to decide for themselves. What do I believe? Good question. I think it’s time I cleared that up.

First of all, I believe every person on this earth has a soul. We have emotions and inner knowing that simply cannot exist in a being with no soul. Plus, if there was no such thing as a soul, how would we know about it?

I believe every soul was created by someone with immense power and wisdom. Some call him “God,” some call him “Allah,” some people think it’s more than one person, and some people think it’s just energy coming together. Whatever your opinion is, every intuitive person out there gets it now. There’s something bigger out there than this little planet of ours. Something…greater.

I believe the person who created us wanted us. We are engineered so intricately that it blows our minds. Think about the human brain. Think about our reproductive systems and other bodily functions. Think about… an eyeball. Everything we see about ourselves and the world around us points back to a creator that intended it. We are no accident. We are here by design and for a purpose.

I believe that love is the calling of mankind. Think about all the problems we could solve if people just loved each other instead of judging, killing, raping, and all other evils. Think about everyone’s deepest desire–to be loved and accepted for who they are. If you’ve experienced love, think about how amazing it would be if that lasted forever and nothing ever happened to mess it up. Love is the key ingredient to happiness and real life.

I believe there is potential for good and evil in everything. You could do the same thing for two different reasons and one would be right and one would be wrong. Because of this, I think it’s impossible for any person to live by someone else’s rules and it is impossible for someone to make a just judgment about anyone else’s actions. Unfortunately though, people do not always agree on what’s right and wrong and therefore we need government, courts, and lawyers.

I believe (and this one’s a doozy) there is truth and error in every formal religion. No religion is the be all end all. If you are trusting in religion to save you from hell or a bad next life, you’re on the wrong track. Religion is man’s explanation of God. It is not God itself.

Those were my general beliefs about the spiritual world. Here come the specifics.

I believe that God reveals Himself to people who seek after truth. I have experienced this in my own life and I know others have as well. My quest has led me to Yahweh and I believe His Spirit is living inside of me.

I believe that mankind sinned and that is why we are under a curse. If you read Genesis 2-3, it really explains a lot; why work is hard but necessary, why women tend to suffer more than men, why childbirth is such a painful experience. As I have read those Scriptures for myself I have come to believe them.

I believe that God sent his Son to redeem us by being the perfect example of true love. Real love sacrifices itself. Real love gives up pride. Real love never gives up. I have learned all these things from Jesus and because of that, I believe He lives.

There is a lot more to what I believe but I think this blog post is long enough 🙂 If I had to put a label on myself, I’d call myself a non-denominational Christian, but I don’t think my beliefs have to be tied to a certain “religion” to guarantee my friendship and alliance with God. If you have any questions or comments you can post them here or message me on Twitter, @NatashaLingarow. Please note that trolling or attacking comments will be deleted but I am not against hearing differing points of view.

Happy Tuesday!

~N.L.

2 thoughts on “Explorations in Spirituality

Leave a Reply

