Going Indie


My book is nowhere near ready for publication yet, but it’s looking like that won’t be too far in the distant future (maybe the end of this year or the beginning of next year). I’m considering selling my books in electronic form through Barnes and Noble or Amazon.com to start out with. I know it won’t make me a millionaire, but it would get my stuff out there faster than sending it to an agent or publishing company, plus both of them give pretty good royalties (and you can always go on to publish with a bigger company afterwards).

What do you all in cyberspace think? Indie publishing, yea or nay?

6 thoughts on “Going Indie

  1. I know from experience that it takes a lot of promoting on your part to get it going, but you can do it. Congratulations on being close to publishing. Good for you. 🙂

    • Thank you! I know it’s going to take a lot of work, but I’ve already got a pretty good base of followers even though I haven’t published anything yet, so I’m hopeful that it could work if I choose this path 🙂

  2. I think yea, I am considering it myself. But leave it until after you at least try a few agents ( few means like 50). You can still go Indie even if you do get an interested agent.

  3. Indie has it’s pluses and minuses. You do generally get a better deal through an agent and possibly some better marketing/promotion. Although my writing partner and I are finding that most agents/publishers expect authors to do the lion’s share of marketing. Why don’t you pursue both avenues simultaneously? This way if you get a bite from an agent you can compare both and go with what works the best for you?

Leave a Reply

