A Light in the Darkness


I have noticed a recurring theme in literature/TV/movies/music lately: depressingly pessimistic views on life. We think “realism” is painting a world in which everything is pointless and nothing is true–in which people rarely succeed at anything and dreams are only for children.

I have two words for that point of view. Since when??

I may seem childish for this, but personally I still believe that my dreams can come true. No, my life is not perfect. Life has definitely not been “easy” for me; in fact, I suffer every day, probably more than most people would realize. But I still have this crazy belief that life is not worthless and things are going to get better for me someday. I still have this insane hope that life can have a happy ending. Why? Because I’ve watched it happen for other people and I know it’s possible. In the midst of suffering, there is always something to fight for.

If you’re having a bad day, I sympathize with you. It feels like everything I’ve done today has ended in some kind of catastrophe one way or another. A little while ago, I felt like giving up and quitting, but all I had to do was tell myself, “You can sit here and be miserable, or you can choose to be happy.” The answer to that is pretty obvious.

What people need is an acknowledgement that yeah, life hurts. In fact, sometimes it’s like being in a constant state of dying–but there’s always a light at the end of the tunnel for people who refuse to give up. There is usually a way out of whatever messy situation you’re in–or if there’s no way out, there’s a coping method. You don’t have to quit or give in. You can have the last laugh at life’s expense.

That is the message I’m striving to deliver in my writing. You can be miserable, down and out, or crumpled on the floor and still find the strength to rise again. Strength comes from having someone on your side, even if it’s only yourself. You can be your own best friend or your own worst enemy. What you tell yourself is what you’re going to believe and live by.

The choice is yours. Are you going to be a victim or a victor? Are you going to let life beat you or are you going to show it who’s boss?

~N.L.

Leave a Reply

