Halfway Done with Camp NaNo!!


Yep, as a matter of fact, I DO know it’s only the 9th. But I’ve already hit that glorious milestone of 25,000 words. 25K in 9 days? I definitely think yes. It’s been a roller coaster of craziness but ohhhhh so worth it.

My novel is actually up to over 40K now, which tells me I’m almost halfway through. I’ve already passed several big events in my story, and  if it weren’t for some things that went horribly wrong for my dear MCs, there would have been a happily ever after by now. I won’t give all the twists and turns away, but I will say that things probably won’t go the way you expected them to, and I’m hoping that when you read the novel you’ll be on the edges of your seats, begging me to just go ahead and SAVE THEM ALREADY!!

I’m aiming for a little bit more of a “realistic” feel with this novel, not necessarily the “3 acts and done” formula. They succeed at one thing, but fail at another, and it sets off a whole new avalanche of problems. There are various love stories with various results, instead of the typical “love triangle crutch” (yes, I’m sorry, it IS becoming a crutch these days). I think it will be surprising, fresh, and hopefully enjoyable reading that won’t leave you clinically depressed or scoffing at cliches at the end.

To any writers who follow me who still haven’t tried anything like Script Frenzy or NaNoWriMo, what are you waiting for?? It really is a fantastic way to move your story along. Please, try it next time. I promise you won’t be disappointed if you really go for it and give it your all.

Happy Weekend!! 🙂

~N.L.

 

Leave a Reply

