Question for my Readers


A lot of my readers are also writers, and some of my followers on Twitter have actually had stuff published. Let me ask you lovely folks a question that has been burning in the back of my mind for quite some time now–

Do you need a bachelor’s degree to succeed in a writing career?

Some people say yes, some say no. Some people have even told me that writing is not a marketable skill, which I’m pretty sure is a load of crap, but I’m interested in seeing what responses I get.

PLEASE comment with your opinion, especially if you have had something published (or produced, if you’re a screenwriter)! Thank ‘oo!!!

~N.L.

7 thoughts on “Question for my Readers

  1. I read this post the other day and came back to see what people were saying. I don’t really think you have to have a degree, but it seems as though it couldn’t hurt. The biggest thing is being a damn good writer, motivated, hard working, and willing to learn your craft and learn from others. Applying oneself is also quite helpful! I’m writing a collection of short stories to self publish – I can’t expect to make a living doing this but I do enjoy it so much that it doesn’t matter to me. I love to write – it’s that simple.

    • Yeah I didn’t get as many responses as I was hoping for lol. But thanks for the input! I’m still trying to decide if I should stop at an Associate’s or go on for a Bachelor’s. I got one other response on a different site saying basically the same thing (“not necessary, but helpful”). So my dilemma continues lol, but all this info is very helpful 🙂

      • I have an associates but it’s in Pre-Med – lol – doesn’t exactly help with writing! I wish I had my bachelors so if you are in a place to go for it, you might want to… I’m 39 – trust me, it doesn’t get easier as you get older ;(

      • Yeah, so I’ve heard. I guess it wouldn’t hurt to at least prepare as if I’m getting a bachelor’s and then make the final decision once I’ve finished my Associate’s.

  2. If you keep teaching yourself new things, I don’t think its a requirement! You already can write, honing your skills and taking classes of course can’t hurt and would be helpful, you’ll probably learn a lot of things sooner than you would if you don’t take some classes and some stuff you may not know at all if you don’t take the classes. But I don’t think it is need if you want to create worlds and characters and sell them to a publisher. The publishing house isn’t going to care if you did so many hours of classwork, they’re going to care if you’ve given them a good, solid, marketable piece of work.

  3. It’s a personal thing. Ask yourself not why degree, but why do you want to assemble with other aspiring writers who will teach you, learn from you and comment on your stuff. Ask yourself if you like being gifted with an assignment so you can spread your wings and fly off on a gust of words. Ask yourself if you want to bathe inside your head when that part is open that floods with words gushing with such velocity that you can’t type them all down. Ask yourself how you feel about the power to stop time and make all things come second to the moment you express yourself.

    I don’t see it as a need so much as the supreme validation by peers, so you can call yourself, without a shadow of doubt, a writer.

  4. today you really need a college education, but if you decide to become a creative writer and publish your own books, you can always become library educated – most of all, understand and believe in yourself – you are a unique individual – your style, your ideas, your creative character may be the new ideas filling book shelves and e-book readers in the near future…. you decide

    while you are deciding…. write write write and when you are not writing, read read read…

    David in Maine USA

Leave a Reply

