SPEAK–A poem


This poem is my statement against cult-like religious oppression. Speak out, victims of silence, and experience the truth of God’s mercy washing over you.

SPEAK

by N. Lingarow

Should I speak?

No.

Their bows are poised to shoot.

Their arrows are lit with flame.

Silence is my savior.

Should I act?

Worse.

Their nets are set for capture.

Their pits are dug for entrapment.

I must remain in place.

My only freedom is in my mind,

But even my brain is sick with their poison.

Should I think?

Perhaps.

But the fog is setting in.

The clouds are walls around me.

Are they right? Am I wrong?

Should I breathe?

I must, or I shall die.

Should I think?

I must, or I cannot see.

Should I act?

I must, or I shall be a prisoner forever.

Should I speak?

I must, or the fire in my soul will consume me.

Leave a Reply

