It’s Love!


Velaria is up to 6,000 words as of right now (YAY!!) and I’m having fun developing the early stages of the love story between Julius and Ardith. It goes something like the song “What Makes You Beautiful” by One Direction, except without the 21st century pop culture vibe.

Ardith thinks she’s plain and ordinary. Julius sees what everybody else sees: that she’s lovely and doesn’t know it. It takes each of them a long time to realize the other loves them. Take this snippet for example–

“Thanks,” I said with a twinge of nervousness, twirling my hair around my finger as I often did when I was anxious.

Julius’ look changed from compassionate to tender, and my breath caught in my throat. “Your hair is lovely,” he whispered, quite unexpectedly. And instantly I could tell he had not meant for me to hear that. “Uh… I…” He sounded out of breath and embarrassed, so I came to his rescue by treating it as a general compliment.

“Why thank you, sir,” I said jokingly, and both of us laughed a little in relief. My heart was leaping for joy that he had noticed me in such a way, and then…

“I didn’t mean that the way it sounded,” he asserted through his laughter, quickly bringing my soaring heart down to earth with a sickening thud.

“I—I know, no harm done,” I chuckled, thankful that I had treated it like a platonic compliment. After all, what had I been thinking? Someone like him could never love someone as plain and uninteresting as me. I had been a fool, but luckily not so big a fool that I had openly treated my fantasies as realities.

The problem is, as you will see throughout the story, Ardith knows how to pretend she isn’t interested when she is. The reason Julius covered up his compliment is because it looked like she did not care for him in the least. It’s going to be a classic “HURRY UP AND GET TOGETHER ALREADY” kind of story with those two, and it’s going to be positively adorable.

If this all sounds the least bit prideful, let me say this: I can brag on this story all I want and feel zero guilt. Why? Because, as I always say, the story is writing itself. I’m just the tool.

Hope you enjoyed this little sneak peek and have a great Thursday evening 🙂

~N.L.

8 thoughts on “It’s Love!

  1. I just love the “Hurry up and get together” love stories, they keep you hanging on till the end…even if you know they are going to be together, can’t wait to read more, this was really good, I almost felt myself blushing along with Ardith

Leave a Reply

