Update


Today I totally forgot to eat lunch because I was concentrating so hard on getting to 5,000 words on Velaria the novel. At least, I think I didn’t eat lunch. I’m really not sure.

But I did get up to 5,000 words. And this novel is going to kill me if I keep going at this pace. Maybe I should chill a little bit.

It’s going really well, in fact I can’t wait to share some of it here. I purposely showed it to Scribblers Central, my group of writer friends, first so they could critique it and help me make it post-worthy. The story is changing as I go, always into something better than I had previously anticipated, and that is partially because of the advice and support of my friends. Love them!

One thing I’ve learned recently is that I have to start anticipating what the readers are going to be thinking about during every incident I put in my story. If I raise a question, I have to answer it. If I cause confusion, I have to resolve it. I have to know everything and I have to explain everything to the readers, or they will be lost, and so will my message. Reading, re-reading, and re-re-reading my work as if I were a new reader is crucial.

Hope you all are having a fantastic week! Take care!

~N.L.

Leave a Reply

