Power


Truth be told, everybody wants some. The very word “power” gives you a shiver down your spine (especially when you stick your finger in a socket… but I digress).

What I’m talking about is the power that comes with a lot of fame, wealth, and chicks or dudes. The kind where people practically grovel at your feet when they see you coming. The kind where the paparazzi can’t get enough of you and everyone’s BEGGING you to appear on their talk show. Or, as in olden days, the kind where a fanfare precedes you wherever you go and you wear a lot of goofy-looking outfits.

But perhaps you just want the power to choose. Or maybe the power to love. Or the power to rise above mediocrity.

Maybe you just want the power to overcome your secret struggles that nobody else knows about.

Why do we humans crave power so much? We’ve already dominated just about every other creature on the planet. Why are we constantly striving for more? When people do get power in their hands, what makes them use their powers for evil?

These questions are the questions I plan to tackle in my newest screenplay. Fundamental questions that everybody wants answered. The horrors that take place within some Communist governments are because somebody who shouldn’t have that much power over another human being got it, and is using it to their advantage. But what makes them worse than any other human being?

What would you do if you suddenly had the source of ultimate power in your hands? Would  you destroy it, give it away, keep it and use it for good, or keep it and use it for evil? (Or some other option I didn’t mention?)

Thankful this weekend (and every weekend) for the power of God and Jesus Christ my Lord. Happy Easter (to those who celebrate it) 🙂

~N.L.

One thought on “Power

  1. That’s a very interesting idea! I bet there’s some good films for referencing there, I’ve currently been looking at power within film for my final uni project. I think if I suddenly gained a lot of power I’d be careful with it, but probably sneakily take advantage of it a couple of times, I don’t think I could resist 😛

Leave a Reply

