Real Progress!


As of now I have written 37.5 pages of Siranai Part I, which is the most I’ve ever written for a screenplay. At the beginning of last week I had only written about 7 pages. You do the math.

This has probably been one of the most productive writing weeks I’ve ever had. Yes the screenplay is far, far from perfect, but at least I’m putting out some quantity for once! I’m guessing I have at least 35 minutes of screen time written so far, which is very encouraging. This time I think this might actually happen.

One thing that kind of alarms me, though, is the fact that I will get sucked into Siranai and by the time I’ve finished writing a scene I’ve forgotten all about the outside world. This could pose a problem for getting anything… ANYTHING else done until I finish this screenplay. My only hope is to do everything else and then write, which I don’t like, but if I want a life at all it must be done.

Another fear I have is that I will sacrifice the quality of the dialogue, story, etc. in my quest to write more and more pages. I’ve noticed the characters are seeming a bit flat because I’m cranking out the dialogue and hardly even thinking about it. I have to be careful that I don’t rush through this. This is a journey, not a race.

In spite of my fears and lack of productivity in other things, though, my hours of writing over the past week have been an absolute delight. The story is really developing and I think there will be something in it for everyone, including those who would not normally enjoy the fantasy genre. I am definitely planning on pitching this idea to a producer one day, as soon as I have it finished. Great things are coming!

I’m going to try to start posting in my blog at least every other day now so that I will keep myself writing and keep everyone informed. Hopefully I won’t write too many posts about trivial things… such as how long I slept last night, or how often I brush my teeth…

Anyway, thanks for following my journey and I hope you have a beautiful day 🙂

~N. Lingarow

One thought on “Real Progress!

  1. You’ll have lots of time to edit later if your characters seem flat 🙂 Sometimes it’s good to get it all down, then fix it. Good luck on finishing!

Leave a Reply

