Siranai Screenplay Preview!


I have to be honest here. I’m posting way more than just the first scene. Why? You’ll see in a minute.

Enjoy and PLEASE give feedback! It helps me tremendously! πŸ™‚ (yes I know the scene names suck and I should have capitalized ALL the character names. I’m working on it lol)

 

Scene 1–Intro

Movie opens with a rolling green countryside. Flowers are blooming, birds are singing, and everything looks beautiful.

The camera scrolls to the left to reveal a beautiful stone palace.

Scene 2–Throneroom

Inside the throne room, the black-haired, blue-eyed queen walks in the double doors to meet the king with their baby girl in her arms.

KING RENTON:

Hello, my darling. [in baby talk voice] And, hello, my precious! How my little princess on this fine day?

SARLA:

[chuckles] She is just fine, my dear. She sleeps hard and long just like her father.

KING RENTON:

Well, isn’t that good news!

Both laugh.

SARLA:

[sighs happily] Oh Renton, I’m so glad she looks like you.

KING RENTON:

[cringes] She might not be so glad once she realizes I’m responsible for this hair color. [fingers the baby’s hair]

SARLA:

Oh darling, stop it! Red hair is lovely. I do not understand why you hate your hair so.

KING RENTON:

Of course not, my sweet. You are not the one who is blinded every time you glance into the looking glass.

SARLA:

[in a sultry voice] But I look at it every night…and I think it’s marvelous.

Both grin at each other. A throne room guard steps in and clears his throat, drawing their attention.

GUARD 1:

Pardon me, Your Majesties, Lord Kurnalan is here to see you.

KING RENTON:

Well, bring him in, man!

Lord Jaimron Kurnalan, a man in his mid-20s with dark hair and a medium build, enters the room.

JAIMRON:

Renton!

KING RENTON:

Jaimron! (the men hug) My cousin, it has been too long.

JAIMRON:

I am dreadfully sorry I could not come any sooner. [looking at the baby] And who is this delightful creature?

SARLA:

[beaming] This is Princess Matika…Mati for short. Our pride and joy. [hands her to Jaimron]

JAIMRON:

What a darling…but what a head of fire! This child is going to be a feisty one!

All laugh, and then the king and queen move to sit on their thrones as Jaimron moves to stand near them, still holding the baby.

JAIMRON:

[looking down at Mati] Matika… The name means “strong in spirit,” does it not?

KING RENTON:

Indeed. We hope that the Great Spirit will give her a will of steel and a heart of gold against the evil that lurks outside our borders.

JAIMRON:

She will need that indeed. Have you decided upon a match for her yet? The parents of the young Hyverian prince are very interested, you know.

KING RENTON:

[sighs] Indeed, I know, but I am having my reservations about planning my daughter’s future for her when she has barely begun to live.

JAIMRON:

[scoffs] But Renton, it’s… tradition…

SARLA:

And our marriage turned out well, didn’t it, darling?

KING RENTON:

Yes, we turned out beautifully, but Mati’s case might end up more like my mother’s, and we wouldn’t want that to happen.

JAIMRON:

That is truth. Poor miserable soul. I actually felt happy for her when her husband died.

KING RENTON:

I could never bear knowing that I had placed my daughter in a situation where she was unhappy or in danger. I wish everyone could be as blessed as Sarla and myself, but it would be foolish to assume that that will happen to everyone.

SARLA:

[reaches over and clasps Renton’s hand] I pray that, whether in an arranged marriage or not, our Mati will find the same love we have and live a life of joy and prosperity.

All smile at each other.

JAIMRON:

[changing the tone of the conversation] So Renton, has your card-playing hand gotten better or worse since the last time I was around?

KING RENTON:

[grins] Care to find out? [looks over at Sarla]

SARLA:

[gives a resigned smile] Go on, boys.

KING RENTON:

[leans over and kisses Sarla’s cheek] Thank you, love. [stands and begins to walk away]

SARLA:

Now, no gambling this time, do you hear me? You may think you have unlimited wealth but we cannot squander what we have on a silly card game.

JAIMRON:

[as the men are about to walk out of the throne room] No need to worry, Sarla. [looks at Renton with mock jealousy] He always wins anyway.

All laugh. Omeyla, a blonde-haired servant in her early 20s, enters the room as the men are leaving. She bows in front of Sarla before speaking.

OMEYLA:

How are you, your Majesty?

SARLA:

[sighs] Tired.

OMEYLA:

[smirks a little] I know how you feel.

Both women laugh.

SARLA:

How is little Darek?

OMEYLA:

[beams] He is well. Every day he grows stronger and stronger.

SARLA:

This is good news. We were so afraid for him when he was born so ill.

OMEYLA:

So was I. But I believe the worst is over where he’s concerned. He eats as if tomorrow were doomsday.

SARLA:

[laughs heartily] As any young man should! [looks down at Mati] This one looks tired to me. Will you take her for a nap?

OMEYLA:

Straightaway, your Grace. [takes the baby from Sarla and carries her away]

SARLA:

Thank you, Omeyla. [turns toward the window which is streaming in sunlight, closes her eyes and looks content]

Scene 3–Playing Cards

In a darkened den, the king and Lord Kurnalan are preparing for their card game.

KING RENTON:

My good Jaimron, what news from Kailemorre?

JAIMRON:

All is well with us, my cousin, thanks to your new trespassing laws. The mandate has truly changed things in my home country.

KING RENTON:

Well, I am glad to know that neighbor relations have improved.

Both men chuckle. Renton begins dealing cards.

JAIMRON:

I have heard some strange murmurings, however, and, besides wanting to visit my newest small cousin, I came here to discuss those with you.

KING RENTON:

[picks up his cards and gives Jaimron his] What murmurings do you speak of?

The men play cards as they converse.

JAIMRON:

[ventures carefully] Some of my colleagues fear that the fortifications of Maladi may have been compromised. They fear an attack on our land.

KING RENTON:

[scoffs] Preposterous, my good man! Benedaea’s strongest and finest are sent to that island. If we are safe from anyone, it is surely the rebels.

JAIMRON:

But my colleagues have received news of eyewitnessings of strange occurences at the island–billows of smoke and terrifying noises. As if something unnatural and powerful were taking place. They fear that the rebels’ power is increasing.

KING RENTON:

Well, until I hear a confirmed report that the ships of Maladi are sailing for our borders, I will not lose sleep about this. Whatever they are concocting on that island we shall be ready for. Our defenses have never been this strong, Jaimron. Our weapons are advanced and our men as hard as iron. We are prepared for worse than the worst.

JAIMRON:

That is true, my cousin, but… with all due respect… do not underestimate the power of the rebels. And do not dismiss these rumors until you can prove them to be myth. Remember how quickly things can change.

King Renton nods thoughtfully and fingers his signet ring, which is on his right-hand ring finger.

 

 

That signet ring will be important later πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Siranai Screenplay Preview!

  1. Wow, it’s improved to much from the last time I saw it! πŸ™‚ Great job!

    I love how you fleshed out this one part and gave more character to each person. I feel like I know each one more. The card game makes the conversation feel more natural and more laid back. I could imagine everything perfectly, and I would definitely watch this.

    I was a bit confused about Omeyla and her relationship to Darek. I’m guessing that this is her mother more than likely, but I could very well envision Darek being some other servent’s child. Also, Sarla’s interaction with Omeyla seems a bit too casual since she’s a servant. Maybe you could flesh that part out a little more? I feel as if it needs something. Also, the dialogue between Sarla and Renton before Jaimron comes in seems a bit unnatural to me.

  2. Thank you for your comments, Emily! I appreciate the honest feedback and I’m so glad you like it πŸ™‚

    **WARNING-SPOILER** lol XD
    Omeyla takes on a more prominent role throughout the story because she travels with the Kurnalans when they have to abandon the castle. You find out then that Sarla and Omeyla have been close for years (because Omeyla is her lady in waiting and Renton/Sarla are a bit untraditional in their dealings with commoners). You also find out that Darek is Omeyla’s son and Omeyla’s husband died before he was born, so it was just the two of them.

    I do feel like the conversation at the beginning is a bit lacking so I will work on that. Thanks again!

  3. I’d have to agree about the relationship between the queen and Omeyla. it does seem a little too casual, even if they treat there servants on the same level. maybe it’s just me. other than that, I like it. warning though…. it puts me in mind of The Lord of the Rings, not just because of the signet ring, but also the way you describe the rebels power increasing. the smoke and fires and stuff remind me of Saruman at Orthanc. not that that’s all bad. just be careful. I do like it a lot though, it has this really epic quality to it. Good work!!

  4. Alright, well since more than one person has commented on the Sarla/Omeyla dialogue I guess I’d better fix it. And thanks for the warning, I hadn’t really thought of that. It won’t really follow the storyline of Lord of the Rings throughout the rest of the story, though, so hopefully that won’t be a problem. Thanks for the feedback and glad you liked the screenplay! πŸ™‚ (and yes I know it’s a technical nightmare right now… that will be fixed later)

Leave a Reply

