A Little Direction


For months… actually years… I have been trying to figure out where I should go, what I should do, and who I should be. It’s no easy task. Life has thrown me a lot of twists and turns and sometimes I feel completely lost.

I am “good” at a lot of things. I think this is my biggest problem. I don’t “excel” at anything. There is not one thing that people can look at me and say, “She is _____.” I’m just…here. Or at least that’s how I feel.

But now, at age 20, I think I’ve finally found my niche.

Ideas.

I have to create a business plan for my Salon Management class. At first I was just going to write it as if I were cutting hair from home, but then I had another idea, so I decided to write it out. The more I wrote, the more it blossomed and I ended up with a business idea that is not only workable, but catchy and marketable. My business teacher loved it and thinks I should go for it even if I don’t finish my Cosmetology degree.

I realized through this incident that I LOVE the idea of starting my own business. No matter what I’ve thought about doing for a career, I’ve always wanted to have a position of leadership someday. I want to put my ideas into action and watch them change people’s lives.

Now I’m not really a business woman–at least not yet. Rather than spend my time studying things that I already know a decent amount about (writing, music, etc.) I think I should focus on learning more about an area in which I am not very skilled, but need to be. I feel like studying Business Administration might be a smart decision for me. Even if I don’t end up running my own business, in this day in age, a little knowledge about marketing and finance could never hurt anyone.

This revelation does not necessarily translate into a set path for the rest of my life. I wouldn’t want it to. But it least it has given me a little direction.

Leave a comment